Introducing Aerocles

Posted: March 26, 2009 in Twitter
Tags: , , , , , ,

What is an Aerocles you ask? An Aerocles was a young PR professional (now in advertising/social media) experimenting with social media who created a twitter account and established an amazing group of followers (more later on why I don’t like that term), before realizing what twitter was, how helpful it would be from a professional standpoint, and that rebranding oneself as a previously unknown, possibly nonexistent, mythical Greek deity might not be the best idea. That, my friends, is an Aerocles.

A little background on this character. For starters, to those of you who know what firm I currently work for, the thoughts and opinions found in this blog are my own and do not reflect the position of the agency, in any way. For those of you who don’t know where I work…well, we’ll see how long that lasts. What will I write about you ask? Will I continue to ask these questions and then answer them in a terribly overused writing tactic? Do you even want to read this blog? Well, A lot. Probably. And Probably Not, but you’re here now and you’re stuck.

I’ve got a pretty unique perspective on PR, Advertising, & Social Media. I graduated from Rutgers with degrees in Psychology & Philosophy in May of 2008, never taking a single journalism, PR, or communication class. In fact, everything I learned about the industry was from an 8-month internship (at the firm which currently employs me). My boss hated me since day one, for reasons I’m still not sure of (though she’s not here anymore, which is good for me, I guess). Thankfully, I graduated right before the economy went from kinda crappy to shitstorm. So, getting a job wasn’t too tough, but keeping it has become a daily struggle and a source of much anxiety.

I’m was of 2 social media guys at the PR firm and work as part of digital strategy group now. I was there when Facebook took off, and have developed a respectable understanding of, and posse on, twitter. I have become the go-to guy for counseling clients and developing social media strategies.

So…That being said, part of this blog will be chronicling my learning experience, analysis of, and experimentation with various forms of social media. Today it’s twitter, who knows what it will be tomorrow.

Another thing you might find here are my insights into PR, Media, Advertising, & Marketing. Random thoughts about the goings-on in this often overlapping and nebulous field. Successful Campaigns, Failures, Evolution of the industry. Not that I am by any means and expert. But hopefully, if you’re reading this blog, you find something valuable in the assessments I offer. Either that or you’re laughing at me. In which case, the point of this blog is to entertain, so laugh away.

Lastly, you will find my (questionable) poetry, assuming I can safely extract my precious literary masterpieces from my old computer, may she rest in peace (fried when lightning hit my apartment building). You may also read amusing (in my opinion, not necessarily yours) stories, personal experiences, tales from the office, and talk about my favorite TV shows, Movies, Music, Commercials…etc. Also, I love to read – I’m a media junkie and a closet science geek – so be prepared for links to my recommended articles on various marketing, social media, and scientific phenoms.  I welcome comments, topic suggestions, and criticism.

Enjoy!

Follow me at @Aerocles

Comments
  1. Hey!

    Welcome to the blog world! I do have to point one thing out though. As a person with a Communication degree and a person in the media business. It’s “communication” not “communications” with an ‘s’. Like a Prof used to always tell me – “There are many forms of communication.”

    LOL!

    That being said, it’s been great getting to know you on Twitter, and even better working with you to line up great guests for my talk show!

    Dr. Rus

  2. dave.teicher@gmail.com says:

    Thanks! It’s been a pleasure on my end, as well. Critique Noted and Correction Implemented!

  3. Heather says:

    Love the new blog, especially the comments on clients who don’t belong on Twitter want to do more; vice versa. Keep up the awesome work! @hdueitt

  4. Lauren says:

    I love reading your writing- its so captivating… (and you’re sexy) keep it up!

  5. CT says:

    Funny: You’re starting a blog to supplement your Twitter presence; I started Twittering to supplement my long-standing blog. We’re complete social-media opposites!

    • dave.teicher@gmail.com says:

      yeah, i’m pretty sure i’m the only one who started a blog AFTER i’ve been on twitter for so long…weird isnt it?

  6. Aliza says:

    I am so excited to start reading your blog!

    • aerocles says:

      I hope I Don’t Disappoint. You’ll have to pardon my lack of grammatical acumen and my apathy toward spelling and typos.

Leave a Reply

